About University

Sri Krishnadevaraya University, Ananthapuramu, had its beginning as a Postgraduate Centre of Sri Venkateswara University in the year 1967-68. It gained autonomy in the year 1976. Fulfilling the desires of the people of the region, the Autonomous Postgraduate Centre was accorded the status of a University in the year 1981. Initially, Sri Krishnadevaraya University functioned as a unitary University. It was conferred the status of an affiliating University in the year 1988. Presently, it caters to the higher education needs of Rayalaseema region in general and Ananthapuramu District in particular. The Postgraduate Centre at Kurnool, which was brought under the jurisdiction of the University in the year 1993, became a separate University in 2008.

Starting with just five departments of study and a hundred students, the University has now five colleges on the campus: SKU College of Arts, SKU College of Sciences, SKU College of Engineering and Technology, SKU College of Education, and SKU College of Pharmacy.


About CDE

Sri Krishnadevaraya University established the Centre for Distance Education (CDE) in the academic year 2000-01 with the introduction of the Postgraduate courses under distance mode for the benefit of those who can not pursue education under regular mode. Centre for Distance Education is re-named as Directorate of Distance Education from the Academic Year 2011-12.   It aims at providing higher education to large sections of the population, particularly to the disadvantaged sections of the society. The Directorate offers various academic programmes that lead to  undergraduate and postgraduate degrees. The undergraduate courses B.A. and B.Com were introduced in the academic year 2005-06. At present the DDE offers B.A, B.Sc, B.Com (Gen), B.Com (Computers), B.L.I.Sc. and B.Ed.  The Postgraduate and P.G Diploma courses being offered by the Directorate of Distance Education include M.A in English, Telugu, History, Economics, Political Science, Sociology and Rural Development,  M.Sc. in Mathematics, Botany, Organic Chemistry, Physics, Zoology, Computer Science, M.Com, M.B.A and P.G.D.C.A


Sri.Ahmed Babu, IAS
Vice chancellor

Dr. R. R. Venkata Raju

Dr.A.Mallikarjuna Reddy


Prof.Krishna Naik,
CDE- Director